North Carolina state law requires every dog, cat, and ferret over four months of age to be vaccinated against rabies. The vaccine must be administered by a licensed veterinarian or a Certified Rabies Vaccinator.
Your veterinarian can also provide duplicate tags and certificates. Craven Pamlico Animal Services Center has Certified Rabies Vaccinators on staff that can administer a one-year rabies vaccination for your pet. Please call for days and times this service is available. If Animal Services Center staff administer the vaccine and the pet owner needs a replacement tag/certificate there is a $10.00 fee for replacement.
In North Carolina, the animal's first rabies vaccine is good for one year and subsequent vaccinations are good for three years.
Please be a responsible pet owner by displaying the animal's rabies tag at all times. A $25 penalty may apply for failing to display the tag. Failure to obtain or keep rabies vaccines up to date are also subject to fines, as well as court action under NCGS 130A-185.
Get answers to the most frequently asked questions about animals and rabies, prevention and treatment, learn a little history, and find out which animals have been infected in your county from the NCDHHS Epidemiology page.